What Fairbanks Aurora Tours Cost: Every Listing Compared
Fairbanks aurora tour prices run from $99 to $385 per person across the 13 listings on this roster. The spread is not about better lights; it is about format, warmth, group size and what rides along with the viewing. Here is what every price point actually buys.
Short answer
Fairbanks aurora tours cost between $99 and $385 per person across 13 listings. Hilltop and lodge viewing runs $99 to $200, small-group chasing $215 to $335, private/VIP from $160, activity combos like ice fishing and dog sledding $239 to $330, and photography tours $300 to $385. Every figure below is per person, as shown for each tour.
How Much Do Fairbanks Aurora Tours Cost Per Person?
Fairbanks aurora tours run from $99 to $385 per person across the 13 listings on this roster. Hilltop and lodge viewing sits between $99 and $200, guided chasing between $160 and $335, activity combos between $239 and $330, and photography-focused tours between $300 and $385. Format, group size and inclusions drive that spread, not sky quality.
That last point deserves emphasis, because it is the one thing the price tags quietly misrepresent. The aurora does not care what the van cost. A $99 hilltop stop and a $385 photography night stand under the same auroral oval, roughly 64.8 degrees north, and both depend on the same two variables: geomagnetic activity and a hole in the clouds. Fairbanks sits under the typical oval, which is precisely why the budget formats work at all. The UAF Geophysical Institute forecast shows visible activity is often possible at low Kp values, around 2 to 4, that would produce nothing at mid-latitudes.
What the price actually buys is everything around the viewing. Warmth, mobility, food, tuition, a smaller group, a longer night, a heated yurt instead of a tailgate. A lodge with north-facing windows costs more than a roadside pull-off because the building costs more to run, not because the sky above it is better. A private tour costs more than a shared van because twelve empty seats do not pay for themselves.
The season shapes the decision as much as the price. Fairbanks' viewing window runs August 21 to April 21 per Explore Fairbanks, the official destination marketing organization, and outside that window twilight or the midnight sun makes viewing impossible regardless of activity overhead. Within the window, a widely cited figure holds that visitors staying three or more nights have roughly a 90 percent chance of catching the aurora, weather permitting, with the lights visible on about four of five clear nights. That statistic is about nights on the ground, not dollars spent on any given night.
The rest of this guide walks the full price table, then explains each tier honestly: what the cheapest tour leaves out, what the expensive ones genuinely add, and where the middle of the range offers the best value for most travelers.
Every Fairbanks Aurora Tour Price Compared, All 13 Listings
The cheapest listing is the Murphy Dome hilltop tour at $99 per person; the priciest is the photography tour with lessons and portraits at $385. Between them, lodge viewing runs $160 to $200, small-group chases $215 to $335, the Chena Hot Springs combo $275, the Arctic Circle day trip $330 and the dog sled evening $320.
Here is the complete roster, sorted by category with each listing's own rating and review count. Every figure is per person, exactly as published on the live listings.
| Listing | Format | From (per person) | Rating | Reviews | Cancellation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Budget Hilltop, Murphy Dome | Hilltop viewing | $99 | 4.5 | 317 | Not stated on the listing |
| Lodge and Yurt Aurora Viewing | Lodge/yurt with north windows | $160 | 4.5 | 34 | Free on the listing |
| 270-Degree Glass House, Cleary Summit | Glass house, hot drinks | $179 | 4.4 | 38 | Free on the listing |
| Guided Lodge Viewing, Commentary | Lodge with commentary | $200 | 4.5 | 286 | Not free on the listing |
| Private Tour, Hotel Pickup | Private chase | $160 | 4.4 | 18 | Not free on the listing |
| Small-Group Aurora Chase | Guided chase | $215 | 5 | 557 | Not stated on the listing |
| Premium Aurora Viewing Tour | Premium small-group chase | $335 | 5 | 789 | Not stated on the listing |
| Ice Fishing and Aurora Combo | Heated shelter, rod time | $239 | 5 | 121 | Not stated on the listing |
| Hot Springs Combo, Chena Resort | Resort evening, hot springs | $275 | 4.5 | 1,342 | Not stated on the listing |
| Dog Sled, Salmon Dinner, Yurt | Dog sled plus dinner | $320 | 4.5 | 140 | Free on the listing |
| Full-Day Arctic Circle Sign Trip | Dalton Highway day trip | $330 | 4.5 | 171 | Free on the listing |
| Electric Moose, Pizza and Shelter | Photography format, pizza | $300 | 5 | 14 | Free on the listing |
| Photo Lessons and Portraits Included | Photography with lessons | $385 | 5 | 245 | Not stated on the listing |
Read the table with two things in mind. First, the ratings barely move across the whole span from $99 to $385: every listing on the roster sits between 4.4 and 5, so price does not sort quality in any obvious way. Second, review counts vary enormously, from 14 to 1,342, and a rating is only as meaningful as its pool. The Hot Springs Combo's 4.5 from 1,342 reviews is the most-reviewed listing on this site. The Electric Moose adventure's 5 from 14 reviews is a perfect score from fourteen people, which is encouraging but thin.

Two listings carry a real sell-out flag on their pages: the Cleary Summit glass house and the Arctic Circle day trip, both marked "Likely to sell out." No other listing on the roster carries that badge, so treat any broader scarcity claim you read elsewhere with suspicion.
Those three span the whole range deliberately: the $99 hilltop floor, the $275 hot springs midpoint and the $385 photography ceiling. If your budget is already fixed, the sections below tell you what each tier buys and, just as often, what it leaves out.
Why The Murphy Dome Hilltop Tour Costs $99 Per Person
The $99 Murphy Dome tour is the budget entry on the roster because it strips the night to a shared ride, a hilltop stop and a guide, with no lodge, no heated structure and no meal. It still carries a 4.5 rating from 317 reviews, one of the larger review pools on this site, which says the stripped-down format satisfies most of the people who buy it.
Murphy Dome is a high point west of Fairbanks, and elevation is the entire product here. The dome rises above the common low-lying ice fog that pools in the Tanana Valley on still winter nights, which is a genuinely useful thing in a town where valley haze can hide a good display. What the tour does not include is infrastructure: there is no glass house, no yurt with a wood stove, no dinner. You are outside on a cleared hilltop with a guide who knows the vantage and can read the sky.
That is the honest arithmetic of the price. Buildings cost money to heat and staff all winter; a van and a pull-off do not. The trade is comfort against cost, and the 317-review pool at 4.5 suggests many travelers make that trade happily. Fairbanks itself is famous precisely because the aurora shows up on ordinary nights at ordinary activity levels, so the budget format loses less than it would almost anywhere else on Earth (see Why Fairbanks Is Famous).

The cancellation policy is not stated on the listing, so say nothing either way and check the terms at checkout. Pickup is the standard arrangement for this roster: transport from the Fairbanks area, with the exact meeting point shown on the listing.
One planning note worth keeping: the cheapest night is also the most weather-exposed. On a windy night at a hilltop, you will feel every degree, and the section on dressing for it in the what to wear guide matters more at $99 than at any other price on this page.
If $99 fits the budget and you own serious layers, this is a defensible first aurora tour; the live listing answers the group-size and pickup questions directly. Read on for what more money buys.
Still weighing whether the bare-bones format suits you? The next tier up adds walls, heat and drinks: lodge viewing starts at $160 per person and the Cleary Summit glass house at $179, and the comfort gap is bigger than the price gap.
What Separates A $160 Lodge Night From A $335 Aurora Chase In Fairbanks
A $160 lodge night sells warmth and a fixed vantage: heated rooms with big north-facing windows and no driving. A $335 chase sells mobility: a guide who drives toward clear sky, camera help and a smaller group standing in the cold. Same night, same sky, two different products solving two different problems.
The lodge tier runs from $160 to $200. At the bottom, the Lodge and Yurt Aurora Viewing option ($160, 4.5 from 34 reviews, free cancellation on the listing) puts you in a warm structure with north-facing glass and transport from major hotels in the Fairbanks area. The Cleary Summit glass house ($179, 4.4 from 38, also free cancellation, flagged "Likely to sell out") wraps the idea in floor-to-ceiling, 270-degree windows with hot drinks and snacks. The guided lodge option at $200 (4.5 from 286) adds running commentary. The private tour also sits at $160, but it is a different animal: a private chase with hotel pickup, carrying a 4.4 from just 18 reviews, a pool too small to support any popularity claim.
The chase tier starts at $215. The small-group chase (5 from 557 reviews) and the premium tour (5 from 789 reviews) both send a guide out hunting for a gap in the clouds, which matters more than newcomers expect: Interior Alaska winters produce a lot of overcast, and a van that can drive an hour toward stars is worth more than a beautiful lodge under a white sky. The premium tour's higher price reflects the premium group format, and its 789-review pool is the deepest of the five-star listings on this roster. If mobility is the argument that wins your budget, compare the premium small-group chase listing in full, or Check availability.

The honest way to choose between the tiers is to ask which failure mode you would rather insure against. If your nights in Fairbanks are limited and clouds are the enemy, the chase buys you odds, because it moves. If cold is the enemy, because you are traveling with kids, older parents or a partner who has never stood outside at minus fifteen, the lodge buys you endurance, because people last hours in warmth that they would not survive in the open. The what happens on a tour guide walks the typical night minute by minute if you want the fuller picture before paying.
A mixed strategy is also legitimate, and many returning visitors use it: book a lodge night for the comfort baseline, and if the forecast looks strong, add a cheap hilltop night for the open-sky view. Two budget nights still cost less than one premium chase.
Where Combos Fit In The Fairbanks Price Range
Combo tours in Fairbanks price between $239 and $330 per person. Ice fishing pairs a heated shelter and rod time with the aurora hunt at $239; the Chena Hot Springs resort evening is $275; the dog sled ride with salmon dinner and a yurt is $320; and the full-day Arctic Circle sign trip is $330.
Combos are the tier where the price stops buying aurora and starts buying an activity bolted to it. The ice fishing night (5 from 121 reviews) puts you in a heated shelter on a frozen lake with lines in the water, then runs the aurora hunt alongside or after. The dog sled evening (4.5 from 140 reviews, free cancellation) adds a moonlit sled run, a salmon dinner and a yurt, and is as close as this roster gets to a full Interior Alaska evening in one ticket. The Chena Hot Springs combo (4.5 from 1,342 reviews, the roster's deepest pool) spends the night at the resort roughly 60 miles northeast of Fairbanks, per the official resort site, with the outdoor hot springs pool open 7:00am to 11:45pm daily, year-round.
The Arctic Circle day trip sits at $330 (4.5 from 171, free cancellation, "Likely to sell out") and is a different proposition from every other listing here: a full day on the Dalton Highway to the marker at milepost 115, roughly 194 to 200 miles from Fairbanks, with a return aurora hunt around 3am. Round trips commonly run 12 to 16 hours. It is priced like a combo but the bundled content is distance, not activity; most national rental-car companies prohibit the Dalton or void coverage for it, per the BLM Arctic Interagency Visitor Center, which is why nearly everyone buys the guided version.
| Combo listing | Price per person | What the premium buys | Rating and reviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ice Fishing and Aurora Combo | $239 | Heated lake shelter, rod time, instruction | 5 from 121 reviews |
| Hot Springs Combo, Chena Resort | $275 | Resort access, hot springs soak, roughly 60-mile transfer | 4.5 from 1,342 reviews |
| Dog Sled, Salmon Dinner, Yurt | $320 | Sled run, cooked dinner, heated yurt | 4.5 from 140 reviews |
| Full-Day Arctic Circle Sign Trip | $330 | Dalton Highway day, Arctic Circle marker, late aurora hunt | 4.5 from 171 reviews |
The value question with combos is simple: would you do the bundled activity anyway? If yes, the combo usually beats booking both separately, and the aurora is effectively the free part of the ticket. If no, you are paying an activity premium for a viewing night, and a $215 chase plus a $99 hilltop would buy you two pure aurora attempts for similar money.

One caution specific to the resort combo: the resort's own admissions are separate from the tour ticket. The Aurora Ice Museum, held at a constant 25F and built from over 1,000 tons of ice and snow, charges its own general admission, $20 for adults 12 and up and $15 for children 6 to 11, with 45-minute guided tours offered year-round. Those are the resort's prices, not the tour's, and they are not folded into the $275 listing price unless the listing says so explicitly.
The ice fishing night is the cheapest combo on the roster and the only one that hands you a heated shelter as part of the base activity, which makes it a sneaky pick for cold-averse travelers who still want the open-lake view.
Are The Fairbanks Photography Tours Worth $300 To $385?
The two photography listings are the most expensive formats on the roster: $300 for the Electric Moose adventure with pizza and a heated shelter, and $385 for the tour with photo lessons and portraits included. The premium buys a guide who shoots and teaches, plus finished portraits of you under the lights.
The $385 tour (5 from 245 reviews) is the roster's ceiling, and its price is the easiest to explain: professional photography instruction and portrait sessions are skilled labor, and skilled labor costs more than a van and a yurt. You leave with camera lessons you keep for every future aurora trip, plus portraits taken on the night. For travelers whose whole goal is the photo, that is the product, and no other listing on this roster sells it.
The $300 Electric Moose adventure (5 from a thin pool of 14 reviews, free cancellation) bundles the photography format with comfort: pizza and a heated shelter over a 5 to 6 hour night. Fourteen reviews is a real limitation on what can be claimed about it; the perfect score is encouraging, but the pool is small, so treat it as a promising newcomer rather than an established favorite. The shelter and the food explain most of the gap between it and the budget tier.

Who should skip this tier? Anyone who would be happy with phone snapshots, because a modern phone on a tripod, held steady on a long exposure, captures a surprising amount of aurora, and several chase guides on the roster help with camera settings as part of the night anyway. The photography premium is for travelers who want taught, not just transported. If that is you, this is the one category where the most expensive listing is also the most defensible.
Both photography listings run on the same nights as every other format on this page, so the decision is purely about output: come home with finished pictures versus come home with memories. The sky above both costs exactly the same as the sky above the $99 hilltop.
Extra Costs To Budget Beyond The Tour Price In Fairbanks
Budget a little beyond the ticket for the typical add-ons: resort admissions such as the Aurora Ice Museum at $20 for adults and $15 for children, drinks and snacks not listed as included, and a guide gratuity. The forecast tools that drive the entire decision are free.
The tour price is rarely the whole trip cost. The biggest hidden line for most visitors is nights in Fairbanks itself: the widely cited figure of roughly a 90 percent chance of seeing the aurora applies to stays of three or more nights, so the cheapest strategy on paper, one expensive tour, is often weaker than three cheap ones. The how many nights guide covers the arithmetic in detail.
| Extra | Typical cost | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Aurora Ice Museum admission at Chena | $20 adults, $15 children | Resort's own general admission, separate from any tour ticket |
| Ice museum tour times | Included in admission | 45-minute guided tours, typically 11am, 1pm, 3pm, 5pm, 7pm |
| Snacks and drinks not listed as included | On the listing | Lodge and combo tours vary; check inclusions before assuming |
| Rental cold-weather gear | On the listing | Some operators offer layers; confirm sizes in advance |
| Guide gratuity | Customary | Not included in any listing price on this roster |
Then there is the weather itself, which is free but consequential. Winter nights are the whole point of the season, and they are genuinely cold: average January lows in Fairbanks run around -16 to -17F, per long-term climate normals, and the winter of 2025-26 was the city's coldest on record, averaging nearly -14F from December through March. Around the winter solstice the city sees only about 3 hours and 41 minutes of daylight, sunrise near 10:58am and sunset near 2:40pm, lengthening to roughly 10 hours by late February. Long nights are the resource every price tier on this page is selling.
Two habits cost nothing and repay more than any upgrade. Check the UAF forecast before booking any specific night, and check the local cloud forecast before choosing between a fixed lodge and a mobile chase. Spending on the right night beats spending more on the wrong one, which is the single most useful sentence in this entire price guide.
More format-by-format comparisons, including deeper dives on the lodges, the combos and the photography nights, sit alongside this page on Fairbanks Aurora Borealis Tours, and the best northern lights tours roundup pulls the full roster into one ranked view.
Whatever the budget, the same rule holds at every price point on this page: the number of nights you stay matters more than the tour you pick, because no tier here can change the sky, only your odds of standing under a clear patch of it.
Common Questions About Fairbanks Aurora Tour Prices
What Is The Cheapest Aurora Tour In Fairbanks?
The cheapest listing on this roster is the Murphy Dome budget hilltop tour at $99 per person, rated 4.5 from 317 reviews. It covers transport to a hilltop vantage and a guided night outside, with no lodge, meal or heated structure. The next tier up, lodge viewing with north-facing windows, starts at $160 per person.
What Is The Average Price Of An Aurora Tour In Fairbanks?
Across the 13 listings on this roster, prices run from $99 to $385 per person, and the middle of the range sits around the $215 small-group chase and the $275 hot springs combo. Hilltop and lodge viewing runs $99 to $200, guided chasing $160 to $335, and combo and photography formats $239 to $385. Most travelers choose by format rather than by the average.
Do More Expensive Fairbanks Aurora Tours Guarantee Better Sightings?
No tour guarantees a sighting, and no honest listing claims one. The aurora is a natural phenomenon, and every price tier on this roster watches the same sky over the same city. Higher prices buy comfort, mobility toward clear sky, smaller groups, bundled activities or photography instruction, all of which improve your odds of a good night but never make it certain.
Are Fairbanks Aurora Tour Prices Per Person Or Per Group?
Every price in this guide is per person, including the private tour at $160 and every combo. No listing on this roster quotes a group rate, so a party of four should multiply any figure here by four. Never convert a per-person figure into a party estimate without checking the listing, because some formats add per-person surcharges for extras.
Do Fairbanks Aurora Tours Offer Free Cancellation?
Five listings on this roster carry free cancellation: the lodge and yurt viewing at $160, the Cleary Summit glass house at $179, the Electric Moose photography adventure at $300, the dog sled evening at $320 and the Arctic Circle day trip at $330. The guided lodge tour and the private tour explicitly do not, and the remaining listings state no policy either way, so check each one before booking.
Is A $99 Aurora Tour Actually Good Value In Fairbanks?
Yes, for the right traveler. The Murphy Dome hilltop tour carries a 4.5 rating from 317 reviews, one of the larger pools on this site, and Fairbanks' position under the auroral oval means even a stripped-down format gets a real sky. It is poor value only if you know you cannot tolerate an extended night in the cold, in which case the heated-lodge tier is what you should buy instead.