How To Build Your Own Northern Lights Tour Package In Fairbanks
No tour seller in Fairbanks offers one multi-night northern lights bundle. What the city's listings give you instead are strong single-night products that combine into a better trip than any package would, provided you book enough nights.
Short answer
There is no true multi-night northern lights package sold in Fairbanks; the listings are individual one-night products from $99 to $385 per person, plus one full-day Arctic Circle trip at $330. Build your own plan across two or three nights, since a commonly cited figure puts aurora-viewing odds at roughly 90% for three-night stays in season.
Can You Book A Complete Northern Lights Tour Package In Fairbanks?
No single multi-night bundled northern lights package exists among Fairbanks tour listings. What the city's operators actually sell are single-night products: lodge and yurt viewing from $160 per person, a hot springs combo from $275, and a full-day Arctic Circle trip from $330. A package is therefore something you assemble yourself across two or three nights, not something you add to a cart.
That statement deserves a plain explanation, because many travelers arrive expecting an Alaska equivalent of an all-inclusive ski week. The Fairbanks market is built differently. Operators run one product per night, often the same van or lodge serving a rotating cast of guests, and the booking pages you find are priced per person for a single departure. Some travelers read that as a gap in the market. It is closer to an honest reflection of how aurora viewing works: each night is a fresh bet on the sky, and no operator can sell you three nights of guaranteed light in one transaction.
The good news is that the ingredients are excellent and they sit at very different price points. A budget hilltop night at Murphy Dome starts at $99 per person with a 4.5 rating from 317 reviews. The premium chase product runs from $335 per person and carries a perfect 5 from 789 reviews. Between those poles sit lodges, a glass house, an ice fishing combo, a dog sled dinner and a photography tour, each covering a different night-shape. A self-built plan is not a compromise; it is the standard way experienced aurora travelers use this city.
For readers who want a deeper look at the individual formats, the guide to aurora viewing lodges and cabins near Fairbanks covers the seated-viewing family, and the piece on what happens on a Fairbanks aurora tour walks through a typical night from pickup to return. This page stays on the packaging question: how many nights, which formats, in which order, and what the whole stack costs.
Why Three Nights In Fairbanks Beats Any Single Package Tour
The reason no package product can promise more than one night of aurora is simple: the lights are a natural phenomenon and no tour guarantees a sighting. A commonly cited figure from the official destination marketing organization puts the odds at roughly 90% for visitors who stay three or more nights during the season, weather permitting, with aurora visible on about four of five clear nights.
That 90% figure is worth internalizing before you spend anything. It is a widely reported statistic from Explore Fairbanks' aurora season page, not a claim from this site, and it does a lot of quiet work. One night gives you a coin-flip-adjacent chance depending on cloud cover. Three nights, spread across three different products and ideally three different sky positions, is what converts an aurora trip from a gamble into a near-reliability. The same page defines the season itself, August 21 to April 21, and outside that window twilight or the midnight sun prevents viewing even when the aurora is active overhead.
The practical translation for packaging: your goal is not to find a bundle, it is to put yourself under three separate dark skies. That is why the self-built approach is not a workaround but a genuine advantage. A single operator running one lodge cannot diversify your weather risk. Booking a lodge night, a mobile chase and a hot springs night spreads you across different terrain, different transport and different microclimates, while a single-package product would keep you in one spot for the whole stay.
The three listings above are the backbone of most self-built plans in this city, and this guide uses them that way throughout: the hot springs combo as an anchor night, the lodge and yurt viewing as a low-effort seated night, and the Arctic Circle day trip as the signature one-off that also ends in an aurora hunt. Readers weighing how long to stay should also read the blog post on how many days to stay in Fairbanks to see the northern lights, which works through the same arithmetic from the hotel side.
How To Build A Two Night Aurora Plan Around Fairbanks
A practical two-night build pairs one seated viewing product with one mobile night. Night one at the lodge and yurt viewing product, from $160 per person, offers large north-facing windows and transport from major hotels; night two takes the Chena Hot Springs combo, from $275 per person, which adds the Ice Museum and a hot springs soak to the aurora viewing.
The logic behind pairing these two first is contrast. The lodge night is passive by design: you arrive at a warm room with big north-facing windows, and you watch the sky from indoors. It suits a first night in Fairbanks, when jet lag and cold-weather gear are still being figured out, because the product asks almost nothing of you physically. The listing rates 4.5 from 34 reviews, and pickup is handled generically across the Fairbanks area, with the exact meeting point shown on the listing.

The Chena Hot Springs combo is the opposite shape. It moves you roughly 60 miles northeast of Fairbanks via Chena Hot Springs Road, a drive of about one to two hours, and turns the night into a full resort outing: the outdoor hot springs pool is open 7:00am to 11:45pm daily year-round, and the on-site Aurora Ice Museum offers 45-minute guided tours at $20 for adults and $15 for children ages 6 to 11. Those resort prices are the resort's own general admission, separate from the tour listing price. With a 4.5 rating from 1,342 reviews, this is the most-reviewed aurora product in the city, and it fills the second night with things to do even if the sky stays stubbornly cloudy. The resort's own pages carry the details of the hot springs and Ice Museum if you want to check current schedules before you commit.
Because the combo is the featured product on this site and the natural anchor of a self-built package, it earns the anchor night in most plans. One caution for packaging: the listing does not state a free-cancellation policy, so treat this booking as fixed once made, and put any flexible bookends around it rather than inside it.
One question before you book anything for a two-night stay: is two nights actually enough? The 90%-with-three-nights figure suggests the third night is where the odds consolidate, and the difference between two and three nights is the difference between hoping and planning. If flights allow, treat the two-night build below as the minimum and read the three-night version as the real target.
How To Stretch Three Nights Into A Full Fairbanks Aurora Package
With a third night, most travelers add the full-day Arctic Circle trip, from $330 per person, which carries a real "Likely to sell out" badge on its listing and returns to Fairbanks with an aurora hunt around 3am. Between departures, daytime hours fill with resort add-ons like the Ice Museum at $20 for adults and the free geothermal tours at Chena.
The Arctic Circle day trip is the one product on the roster that consumes an entire day, and that changes how it fits a package. The marker sits at milepost 115 on the Dalton Highway, roughly 194 to 200 miles from Fairbanks, at approximately 66 degrees 33 minutes north. One-way drive time is commonly cited around five hours under good conditions, and full-day round-trip tours commonly run 12 to 16 hours, which is why the product is structured as a full-day outing with the return aurora hunt wrapping around 3am. It rates 4.5 from 171 reviews and carries free cancellation on the listing.

This is also the product that answers the question every independent traveler eventually asks: can I just drive it myself? Mostly no. Per the Bureau of Land Management's Arctic Interagency Visitor Center, most major national rental-car companies prohibit driving the Dalton Highway or void insurance coverage for it, and winter conditions include snow, blowing snow and refreeze black ice, especially at Atigun Pass at roughly 4,739 feet. A guided tour is not a luxury on this route; for most visitors it is the only legal and insured way to stand at the marker. The dedicated guide to the Arctic Circle aurora tour from Fairbanks covers the route stop by stop.
Slotting matters here. The Arctic Circle day is exhausting, with a return in the small hours, so it should not sit between two night tours. Most successful three-night builds run it as the middle day, bracketed by the two seated or resort nights on either side, or as the final day so the 3am return lands on your departure morning rather than before another booking. The full guide on Chena Hot Springs aurora tours covers scheduling the resort night against the long drives.
What Every Aurora Tour Format In Fairbanks Costs Per Night
Across the full roster, single-night viewing products run from $99 per person at the budget Murphy Dome hilltop to $385 per person for the photography tour with lessons and portraits included. Chase products sit between, from $215 to $335 per person, and the Arctic Circle day trip is the only product that fills an entire day.
The table below covers every bookable aurora tour format on this site, with prices taken from each live listing. Prices are per person and ratings carry their review counts, because a 4.5 from 1,342 reviews and a 5 from 14 reviews are very different signals. Two listings, the glass house at Cleary Summit and the Arctic Circle day trip, carry a genuine sell-out badge; no other listing supports any urgency claim.
| Decision name | Category | From (per person) | Rating | Cancellation on the listing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lodge and Yurt Aurora Viewing | Lodges | $160 | 4.5 from 34 reviews | Free cancellation |
| 270-Degree Glass House, Hot Drinks | Lodges | $179 | 4.4 from 38 reviews | Free cancellation, Likely to sell out |
| Guided Lodge Viewing, Commentary | Lodges | $200 | 4.5 from 286 reviews | Not free cancellation |
| Budget Hilltop, Murphy Dome | Lodges | $99 | 4.5 from 317 reviews | Not stated |
| Premium Aurora Viewing Tour | Chasing | $335 | 5 from 789 reviews | Not stated |
| Small-Group Aurora Chase | Chasing | $215 | 5 from 557 reviews | Not stated |
| Ice Fishing and Aurora Combo | Chasing | $239 | 5 from 121 reviews | Not stated |
| Private Tour, Hotel Pickup | Chasing | $160 | 4.4 from 18 reviews | Not free cancellation |
| Photo Lessons and Portraits Included | Photography | $385 | 5 from 245 reviews | Not stated |
| Electric Moose, Pizza and Shelter | Photography | $300 | 5 from 14 reviews | Free cancellation |
| Hot Springs Combo, Chena Resort | Hot springs | $275 | 4.5 from 1,342 reviews | Not stated |
| Full-Day Arctic Circle Sign Trip | Day trip | $330 | 4.5 from 171 reviews | Free cancellation, Likely to sell out |
| Dog Sled, Salmon Dinner, Yurt | Dog sled | $320 | 4.5 from 140 reviews | Free cancellation |
Read the table as a menu rather than a ranking. The budget hilltop at $99 is the cheapest sky in the city and its 4.5 from 317 reviews is a solid pool, but it is a hilltop, so warmth depends on what you bring. The premium chase at $335 with a perfect 5 from 789 reviews is the strongest review profile on the roster, and a chase is the format that actively relocates when clouds sit over one valley. The photography tours cost the most because a guide is teaching you to shoot, not just pointing at the sky.

The lodge and yurt product earns a solo mention here because it is the cheapest of the three backbone listings and the one whose format least depends on the sky cooperating at one fixed spot: a north-facing window viewed from a heated room is a low-stress way to spend the first night of any package while you learn how the cold actually feels.
Picking Your Aurora Nights Around Fairbanks Weather And Forecasts
Fairbanks sits under the auroral oval at roughly 64.8 degrees north, which means visible aurora is often possible at low Kp values, roughly 2 to 4, where mid-latitude cities see nothing. The planning tools are the UAF Geophysical Institute's daily 3-day forecast and a local clear-sky check, not a Kp threshold that guarantees a show.
The Kp index is a 0 to 9 planetary geomagnetic activity scale, and it is a global average rather than a purely local predictor, so treat it as a background signal. Because the city sits under the oval, activity that would be invisible in, say, the northern contiguous states can hang over Fairbanks on an ordinary night. The UAF Geophysical Institute forecast publishes the 3-day outlook daily, drawing on NOAA space-weather data, and it is the tool locals actually consult before driving out.
Cloud cover, not Kp, is the real gatekeeper in this valley. A Kp 6 storm behind an overcast sky shows you nothing; a Kp 2 night over a clean gap in the clouds can be memorable. That is the second reason the three-night structure wins: it gives you three separate chances at a clear window, and it lets you assign the mobile chase product to the night with the most broken cloud, where a vehicle can actually move toward the gap. The guide to the aurora forecast and Kp index explained works through the scale in detail for readers who want it.
| Signal | What it means for a Fairbanks night |
|---|---|
| Kp 0 to 1 | Quiet globally; still possible under the oval on a clear night |
| Kp 2 to 4 | Often visible from Fairbanks because the city sits under the auroral oval |
| Kp 5 and above | Storm level; the oval expands southward and mid-latitudes join in |
| Clear sky, low Kp | Frequently a good Fairbanks night anyway |
| Overcast, high Kp | No viewing; this is where a chase tour earns its price |
What Cancellation Rules Mean For A Self Built Package In Fairbanks
Because a self-built package means several separate bookings, cancellation terms matter more than with one product. Five listings on this roster carry free cancellation: the lodge and yurt viewing, the glass house, the Electric Moose photography night, the Arctic Circle day trip and the dog sled dinner. Two listings explicitly do not, and six state no policy either way.
This is the one place where a hypothetical single package would have been simpler, and it is worth being direct about the trade. When you book three nights from three listings, you hold three separate terms. The safe construction is to keep the free-cancellation products on the flexible edges of your trip and to avoid counting on refunds from the listings that say nothing. Never assume a policy the listing does not state: for the six unstated listings, this site says nothing about cancellation in either direction, and neither should you when planning.
| Booking status | Listings | How to treat them in a package |
|---|---|---|
| Free cancellation | Lodge and yurt, glass house, Electric Moose, Arctic Circle day trip, dog sled dinner | Safe to book early; adjust if forecasts turn bad |
| Explicitly not free cancellation | Guided lodge viewing, private tour with hotel pickup | Book only once dates are fixed |
| No policy stated | Murphy Dome hilltop, both chases, ice fishing combo, photo lessons, Chena combo | Assume fixed; confirm terms on the listing before booking |
There is a companion risk that packaging helps with, though, and it is the one travelers underestimate: the cloudy night. Some operators in this market reschedule or offer alternatives when the sky is fully blocked, and some do not, and the policies live on each listing rather than in any uniform rule. The dedicated guide on Fairbanks aurora tour cancellation and cloudy nights lays out what to check before paying. The structural point stands regardless: spreading your nights across formats and operators means one operator's bad policy cannot sink the whole trip.
Sample Night By Night Plans For A Fairbanks Aurora Weekend
Two sample builds show how the pieces combine. A value build stacks the Murphy Dome hilltop at $99, the dog sled, salmon dinner and yurt night at $320 per person and the Arctic Circle day at $330; a premium build runs the glass house at $179, the premium chase at $335 and the photo tour at $385, in that order.
Neither build is a recommendation so much as a demonstration that the roster supports very different trips at very different spends, all per person and all assembled from single-night listings.

| Night | Value build | Premium build |
|---|---|---|
| Night 1 | Budget hilltop at Murphy Dome, $99 | 270-degree glass house at Cleary Summit, $179, Likely to sell out |
| Night 2 | Dog sled, salmon dinner and yurt, $320 | Premium small-group chase, $335 |
| Day 3 | Full-day Arctic Circle trip with 3am aurora hunt, $330 | Photography tour with lessons and portraits, $385 |
| Daytime filler | Free geothermal tours at Chena, 2pm and 4pm | Ice Museum tour, $20 adults, parkas provided |
Notice what the value build does: it spends on experiences rather than on viewing mechanics. The dog sled night at $320 from the moonlight roster pairs a sled ride, a salmon dinner and a yurt with aurora viewing, rated 4.5 from 140 reviews with free cancellation, so even a clouded-out sky still leaves you with a genuinely Alaskan evening. That is the smartest insurance a package builder can buy, and it is why the dog sledding and aurora combo tours format belongs in this conversation alongside the pure viewing products (see Dog Sledding Aurora Tours).

The Chena night deserves its own budget line in any build, because the resort's own admission prices stack on top of the tour listing. The Ice Museum at $20 for adults, the hot springs pool at $20 day-use for adults and the resort-run aurora tour at $110 or $125 per person are all paid directly to the resort, and a package builder should know which line belongs to whom before arrival. The numbers below are the resort's own general-admission rates, entirely separate from this site's tour listings.
| Chena Hot Springs add-on | Resort price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Aurora Ice Museum, 45-minute guided tour | $20 adults (12+), $15 children (6-11) | Tours typically at 11am, 1pm, 3pm, 5pm and 7pm, parkas provided free |
| Hot springs pool and pool house | $20 adults, $18 seniors (60+), $17 children (6-17), 5 and under free | Open 7:00am to 11:45pm daily, year-round |
| Appletini in an ice glass | $20 | Optional, inside the Ice Museum |
| Geothermal and renewable energy walking tour | Free | 45 minutes, daily at 2pm and 4pm |
| Resort-run aurora viewing tour to Charlie Dome | $110 or $125 per person | 5 hours, yurts and hot drinks included, no refund if the aurora does not appear |
Put together, the two sample builds and the add-on table are what a real package looks like in Fairbanks: a handful of single-night listings, one long day trip, some resort admissions, and a hotel room holding it all together. The full cost picture, including the lodging side, lives in the guide on how much a Fairbanks aurora tour costs, and the deep dive on the resort itself is at Chena Hot Springs aurora tours.
Planning the trip this way, night by night rather than hunting for a bundle that does not exist, is also how this site approaches the whole destination; more of the reasoning sits on the Fairbanks Aurora Borealis Tours homepage. Before you finalize dates, glance once more at the trio below and confirm availability on each night you intend to book.
Common Questions About Building Northern Lights Tour Packages In Fairbanks
Are There Real Multi Night Northern Lights Packages Sold In Fairbanks?
No. The bookable listings are individual one-night products plus one full-day Arctic Circle trip. Travelers sometimes see the word package on a hotel page, but the tour products themselves are sold per person per night, from $99 to $385.
How Many Nights Should A Self Built Aurora Package Include?
Three is the standard answer. A commonly cited figure from the official destination marketing organization puts the odds of seeing the aurora at roughly 90% for visitors who stay three or more nights during the August 21 to April 21 season, weather permitting.
Which Fairbanks Aurora Tours Include Free Cancellation?
Five listings carry free cancellation: the lodge and yurt viewing, the glass house at Cleary Summit, the Electric Moose photography night, the Arctic Circle day trip and the moonlight dog sled dinner. The guided lodge viewing and the private tour with hotel pickup explicitly do not, and the remaining six listings state no policy either way.
Can I Add Chena Hot Springs To A Fairbanks Aurora Package?
Yes, and it is the most common anchor night. The Hot Springs Combo listing runs from $275 per person and rates 4.5 from 1,342 reviews. Resort add-ons like the $20 Ice Museum tour are paid separately to the resort.
Does The Arctic Circle Day Trip Count As One Of My Aurora Nights?
It can. The full-day trip includes a return aurora hunt that wraps around 3am, so many travelers use it as the final night of a three-night plan rather than booking a separate viewing product on top of it.
When Is The Best Month To Book Aurora Nights In Fairbanks?
Any month inside the August 21 to April 21 season works. Midwinter months give the longest darkness, with only about 3 hours 41 minutes of daylight on December 21, while equinox periods are often noted for enhanced geomagnetic activity. More nights matter more than the specific month.